Curly Quills

You made that out of paper?

The Beehive – New Quilling Technique

on April 22, 2012

So in the wonderful world of Pinterest, I came across a beautiful quilled flower, this one posted below, actually:

purple beehive brooch

What caught my eye most was the pattern within the pettals – it’s no where NEAR anything I had ever seen quilled before. I was in love instantly, and went on a mad hunt to find out what it was.

It is a new technique called “beehive”, created by a creative Indonesian quiller named Susan, over on her blog Susan Quilling. I also realized a short while later that it was mentioned in the most recent issue of Quill America, with them listing a link to this blog: http://quillingmesoftlee.blogspot.com/

So, between doing the laundry, the dishes, making lunch, and tearing apart my entire closet so DH could get in the attic to see why the roof is leaking, I decided that i just HAD to try out this technique, and this is how I did it.

Upon doing some research on youtube of some video tutorials, I figured that the outide shape size that I wanted to use would be a strip around 22-24″ long, and was wrapped around a ruler 2″ wide.

I started out by choosing the colors I wanted to use. I chose 5 colors of my Lake City colors: Fuchsia, Sunset Red, Melon, Yellow, and Spring Green. I wanted the outine shape to fade from one color to the next, so I divided 22″ by 5 for the colors I was using, and tore a 4 1/2″ strip of each color.

Beehive 1WM

I then glued them together in the order I chose to make one long strip.

Beehive 2WM

Next, I used my quilling comb to wrap the paper for the outline shape. I wapped around pegs 1 and 12. Note: If you are using multiple colors like I did, it may be best to keep the last strip at a longer length so you can end it at the top to help hide the seam. I didn’t think of that :o)

Beehive 3WM

Once I had wrapped my shape around the quilling comb, I took it off and formed it into the shape I wanted, a teardrop.

Beehive 4WM

For the inside shape, I wanted to have fun with colors, so I started by tearing up the rest of my strip of paper into 2″ strips. I ended up with 9 pieces in each color.

Beehive 5WM

I then glued the pieces together to form a long strip, approximately 39″. To pump up to color fun for my filling, I made 2 strips like this, each around 39″, and decided to curl them together.

Beehive 6WM

I lined both piece together, and started quilling about an inch down from the end of the strips, until the end was in the curl. I then moved down again about another inch and curled again, until I had one long strip of curls! I decided to end my strip when I had used about 20″ of my original 39″ strip.

Beehive 7WM

I then stuffed all of my curls into my outline shape. Note: stuff your shape on a flat surface and don’t pick it up while stuffing, or your quills will fall out.

Beehive 8WM

Lastly, I glued between where any of the curls touched the outline piece or another curl: This helps to keep everything in place.

Beehive 9WM

Ta Da! I used the other half of my 39″ strip to fill another piece. I think I’ll seal these and make them into earrings to sell in my Etsy shop.

Beehive 10WM

What do you think about this new technique? Are you going to try it?

Logo Signature

8 responses to “The Beehive – New Quilling Technique

  1. tracey says:

    Wow, you did such a great job with it – love your colors too!

  2. Oooo very pretty! I’d never heard of that. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Linda Fielding says:

    I’m absolutely astounded by the creativity and ability of you quillers. I am going to try to get up the nerve TO try this. It is beautiful and you make it sound so easy…

  4. Connie Winterburn says:

    I am definately going to try this.

  5. Cecilia Cortez says:

    So beautiful!!

  6. lalitha says:

    it is beautiful.thanks for sharing

  7. Kryslalee says:

    I am so going to try this! Lovely work here. Thanks for the how-to.

  8. Linden Jenesse says:

    Brilliant!! Love your use of color!

Leave a Reply

