Curly Quills

You made that out of paper?

Paper Twirlies Team Challenge – May 2012

on May 24, 2012

The challenge has been issued. I accepted.

As posted on the Paper Twirlies Blog, a challenge to quill a project insipired by a creation from another Etsy artist.

Inspiration for this challenge is a quilt by Clothscapes, specifically this listing: http://www.etsy.com/listing/76639721/organic-quilt-modern-geometric-rainbow

We were able to use any picture as inspiration, and any aspect of the picture as inspiration.

Here is what I came up with:

PaperTwrilies 6

My inspiration for this piece was the white color of the quilt – I used textured cardstock to make the boxes to replicate stitching. I was also drawn to the square shape, as well as the varying colors in the quilt. I don’t have a name for my yet, and I’m still debating if they should be attached together as one piece, or left as individual pieces. However, this has to be one of my most favorite projects so far 🙂

I started first by cutting and putting together my beveld frames using my Silhouette Cameo. I had purchased this project, made by Lori Whitlock (a VERY talented graphic designer/project creator – seriously go check out her stuff), for another project, but inspiration struck to use it here.

PaperTwrilies 1

Next, I chose strips of varying colors in the same color family. Each box, with exception to orange, has 6 different colors in it. I used 1 strip of each color, tore them into 3″ lengths, and glued them back into two (very long) strips. The first strip was colored from lightest to darkest, and the second strip was also lightest to darkest, but I started in the middle of the colors to allow for more variance when I began twiling my paper. Each strip ended up being approximately 5′ long.

PaperTwrilies 2

I then used the beehive technique to curl my strips together.

PaperTwrilies 3

When I tried to put all of these curls into the frame, it just wouldn’t stay, because the bevel didn’t give the curls a high enough edge to stay in place. In order to fix this, I had to make a square outline the same size as the hole in the frame to put the quilling in first, and then transfer it to the frame. I made mine out of white 1/4″ quilling paper, as I had that handy at the time, and yes, I did use safety pins as guides, as I was too lazy/excited to get this project done that I couldn’t go upstairs to the attic to get my pins 🙂

PaperTwrilies 4

When all of the curls were put into place, and I had finished doing small adjustments, I glued all of the curls to each other, but made sure not to glue anything to the white frame.

PaperTwrilies 5

Once the curls had dried, I removed the white outline, spread some glue into the bottom of the frame, and placed my quilling inside the frame.

As this was my first craft challenge, I can honestly stay I am very pleased with the results! I can’t wait to do one again!

PaperTwrilies 8

PaperTwrilies 7

Logo Signature

 

 

 

One response to “Paper Twirlies Team Challenge – May 2012

  1. Love this idea. The beveled frames are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

