Curly Quills

You made that out of paper?

Craft Space – Day 2

on February 22, 2013

Well, since yesterday’s wonderful power outage, I thought for sure the desk building would be on hold for at least a week. However, my wonderful, wonderful husband created a work-around by running a long orange extension cord through our living room out to the garage! The saw worked, and didn’t dim the lights in the garage, so we had a good idea we would be safe running the saw off of that.

As we got the two 22″ wide boards cut yesterday, we began by cutting those boards into smaller pieces. We started by measuring the height of what the boards needed to be, either 26 1/2″ or 15 1/5″, depending on the board.

D2-1

Then we got to work setting up the straight edge and making cuts. The first was was ok, but the second one – not so great on the chipping part.

The board chipped

I noticed that when hubby was sawing, he was going alot faster than he had the day before, and I suspect that might be a reason for extra chippage.

However, I also saw this on tv once: put some painters tape where your going to saw to help prevent chipping. Hubby didn’t think it would work because it was “cheap-a$$” tape (as he put it). I said oh well let’s do it anyway!

D2-3

This cut actually turned out GREAT! However, I can’t give complete credit to the tape, because I did tell hubby that he looked to be going faster, so he went slow with the saw this time. So we did this on the remainder of the boards and continued until we got both of the boards cut.

Look, the boards are ACTUALLY in my basement!!!

D2-4

On another note, I’m thinking of painting the white wall one of these shades of Benjamin Moore blue:

D2-5

1. 767 Graceful Sea
2. 772 Hawaiian Breeze
3. 780 Crisp Moring Air
4. 787 Grandma’s Sweater
5. 794 Paradise View

If you know me, and my love of palm trees and tropicals, you should know before even reading this sentance that I’m already leaning towards Hawaian breeze. I like it because it’s blue with just a slight hint of green. I think it will look good with all of the natural wood colors. The other one I like, as crazy as the name is, is Grandma’s Sweater. The name reminds me of a blue cable-knit turtleneck sweater that my mom would always wear. 🙂

So that’s where we’re at with the end of this day. Hoping to have more soon!

Logo Signature

Leave a Reply

